Chicken sort-of-korma

I’m posting this recipe for my colleague Jason Skomorowski, who enjoyed this curry when he was staying with me recently. It’s a mild, creamy curry that to some degree resembles a korma, but it’s nowhere close to authentic. Still, it’s my own recipe, and it works well. It has a much richer and more intense flavour than an actual korma.

This is not my curry, but it looks pretty much like it.

This is not my curry, but it looks pretty much like it.

Here’s how to make it. Sorry that the quantities are so vague: I have no idea how much of any of these ingredients I use, I just do it by feel.

  • Chop some chicken breasts into bite-sized chunks.
  • Put the pieces in a bowl, and set it up to marinade:
    • Add salt and mix in.
    • Add lemon juice and mix in.
    • Add various spices — whatever you have, really — and mix in. I tend to use cumin, coriander, turmeric, ground ginger, black pepper and garam masala.
    • Add natural yoghurt and mix everything together.
    • Leave for several hours, or overnight.
  • Chop some good-sized onions, and fry them in vegetable oil.
  • When they are soft, turn the heat down, cover the pan, and leave them to mulch down for several hours. Stir every so often to prevent sticking and burning.
  • Heat some vegetable oil in a new pan.
  • When it’s hot, add some cumin seed and stir until it’s popping.
  • Add some finely chopped ginger root.
  • Add some finely chopped garlic.
  • Add the marinated chicken, and stir-fry until it’s well on the way to being cooked through.
  • Remove the chicken from the pan. To the remaining yoghurty juices, add more spices. Whatever you have is fine.
  • When the spices have cooked through, add the onion puree that you’ve had simmering away.
  • Add the chicken back to this mixture
  • Add more natural yoghurt until the texture seems about right.
  • Add some ground almond to taste.
  • Simmer until the chicken is cooked through, topping up with yoghurt if it becomes necessary to maintain the right texture.

You really do want to use proper full-fat yoghurt, not fat-free or low-fat.

Enjoy!

6 responses to “Chicken sort-of-korma

  1. I don’t understand the point of reduced-fat yogurts. How did the world come to think it was a good idea? I’ll have try your recipe! Do you think it work well with thighs?

  2. I’m sure it will work just as well with thighs as with breasts. I just wrote “chicken breasts” because that’s what I happen to have easiest access to.

  3. I just want to agree with Mike and Kurt about reduced fat joghurt. Here in North America it’s usually padded with gelatin, seaweed, and guar gum to hide the awful texture. Or with xanthan gum, which is at least authentically derived from fermentation, though not with lactobacilli and not from milk.

  4. I suspect that should you happen to have ginger-garlic paste knocking around, that this would be perfectly fine with that instead. (Looks good, will try! “Add more spices” is my kind of recipe!)

  5. Have a recipe in turn: http://www.esperi.org.uk/~nix/recipes/black-eyed-beans-yoghurt-curry.pdf

    (Easiest curry I’ve ever cooked; modulo making the ginger-garlic paste and marinading the kidney beans, it takes only an hour from starting preparation to eating it. One of the cheapest too.)

Leave a Reply

