Does anyone want my old Commodore 64 Infocom games?

As part of the ongoing clear-out, I am dumping all my old Commodore 64 and VIC-20 games (apart from the ones I wrote myself). Specifically, today, I am getting rid of six Infocom text adventures, which I have played and played and loved and loved: Zork, Zork II, Zork II, Deadline, Suspended and Starcross.

c64-infocom

Against the tiny possibility that they’re of some use to someone somewhere, I have put them up on eBay rather than just shoving them in the recycling.

These six games are all original 5+1/4″ floppy disks in their original packaging, each including its manual. They’ve not been used in probably a quarter of a century so I don’t know whether the magnetic media have degraded — they are sold on an “as is” basis.

The Zork I packaging has a handwritten list of saved games on it. None of the others have this, or anything like it. (Compare the two photos below.)

c64-infocom-zork-i c64-infocom-zork-ii

I’ll be perfectly happy to sell them for 1p, I just want them to have the chance of going to someone who wants them instead of being junked, since they have some historic or nostalgia value.

If you want them, head over to the auction. You’ll most likely be the only bidder.

Update (a couple of hours later)

Also available: seven Llamasoft games, also for the Commodore 64:

c64-llamasoft

If you’re interested, head over to the auction.

Second update (a few hours later)

Also available: fifteen miscellaneous games, all for the Commodore 64:

c64-misc-big-games

If you’re interested, head over to the auction, which lists all the games.

… and now I am involuntarily humming the Thing on a Spring theme music.

Third update (a couple of hours later)

And here is the fourth and final set of Commodore 64 games: thirty of them this time, all cassettes in their original packaging, all available as a single bulk lot.

c64-misc-small-games

If you’re interested, head over to the auction, which lists all the games.

Final update (the next day)

My VIC-20 games are now also on sale:

vic-games

Full details, including a listing, at the auction. I’m pretty sure that the dK’tronics tape includes some of Jeff “Yak The Hairy” Minter’s earliest published work: at least, I remember that in one game you have to protect an alien ambassador which is clearly a llama.

Absolutely final update (another day later)

I realised I’d missed two of my VIC-20 games from that auction — the two that are on cartridges rather than cassettes — so I made a final auction for them.

2016-04-14 08.54.17

So if for some reason you want a copy of Sargon II chess, or Scott Adams’ adventure The Count, you know where to get them!

9 responses to “Does anyone want my old Commodore 64 Infocom games?

  1. Retro computer games are really “in” at the moment, can’t imagine there won’t be somebody up for that. Personally, I would just want to use a Commode 64 as the firelighter for a bonfire as my cousins were so bloody smug about their C64 compared to my “Mickey Mouse” Dragon. I think the reason it hurt so much is that they were right: the Dragon had an awesome CPU, but a completely rubbish Basic (yeah, my first experience of Microsoft, and “why isn’t it as good as BBC Basic” kind of set the scene for forever), a weak graphics card and a can’t-be-arsed 6-bit D-A converter for sound sealed its fate as Not A Good Games Console, which is actually all anybody really wanted. Unless the wanted to do programming, in which case they didn’t want to do it using Microsoft Basic. How my friends laughed at the “?SN ERROR” because it was too stupid to write it out in full, or in mixed-case.

    Ahem. I’m sure I heard a rumour that you used to have a TRS80? That was my first computing crush, until I finally realised they were pretty much as unaffordable as an Apple II, just made more badly.

  2. The infocom stuff is especially collectible, so you may be surprised. I’d jump at it, but.. I have a prodigious retro collection already. (I worked, very distantly, for Atari back in the day..) .. I’ve been shedding off a lot of my beloved retro gear. But the kids do like Vectrex (yay, oscilliscopes!) and they’re getting older now and starting to realize old Atari games are lame :) It was a good run though…

    Theres still a fairly vibrant text adventure crowd (writing new text adventures no less), and the Infocom tech (look up ‘zmachine’) is still being expanded upon. Amazing after all these years.

    I’ll go monitor your ebay now…

  3. FWIW, you can get the games free legally now, I believe; you could always run them in an emulator (C64, Amiga, Atari ST, PC, etc etc), or just get the game file (a story.dat or somesuch, memory fails) and feed it into any modern zmachine interpreter (open source freeware); so you can quite legally fire most Infocom games up, on your phone or tablet or modern machine, no problem.

    The collectability is in the Feeliles in the boxes :)

  4. Well, you definitely have one bid: though I’ll need to revive my C64 and pick up a 1541 from somewhere, that’s definitely worth doing for this nostalgia-fest! — if the disks work, and if they don’t, I can grab a .D64 without shame. The wonderful packaging is worth it on its own :)

  5. Delighted to see your bid, Nix! I do hate to throw things out if they’d be of use to someone else.

    Vometia, never owned a TRS-80; but the two machines I learned to program on, neither of them my own, were a PET 2001 and a Video Genie, which was basically a TRS-80 in a nicer box. Read more if you’re interested.

    Jeff, I followed the Interactive Fiction scene for a while, and started work on one or two games in Inform in 2003 before losing momentum. I still use frotz to play my Infocom .z5 files — most of which I acquired legally, by buying The Lost Treasures of Infocom. At their best, those games were art.

  6. yeah, I’ve also got the Activision Lost Treasures and “The ___ Collection” packs, among others. Magnetic Scrolls were out of the UK and some of my favorite games, with an amazing parser from back in the day (“full sentence”); look up Guild of Thieves or The Pawn for classic examples, which even include optional static artwork. Quite gorgeous products for mid-late 80s, and easily interpreted.

    (They’re also cool as their story code is written in a limited 68k asm; so the C64 Magnetic Scrolls games were actually running a 68k emulator of sorts .. made them slow, but astounding :)

    Good luck on the auctions; I’m in Canada, so will refrain. But I also have gotten into FPGA hacking, so see the MiST FPGA board, which has FPGA cores for ST, C64, etc etc, so can jack it into a TV and fire up disk or tape images that way.. or just use a laptop with an emulator. Most of this stuff is all legal (and on archive.org even), as well.

    History is important, and these text adventures are surely art. Quite good games.

  7. Pingback: Goodbye to (nearly) all my 1980s computer games | The Reinvigorated Programmer

  8. Hi
    I’m in Germany
    You can send the cast commador64
    In my home

    Send the pic In my Amali I chose many

    Shawi2022@hotmail.com
    Germany
    Bonn 53177
    Burgst 83

    Thanks

  9. Sorry, Ali, all the auctions have ended.

Leave a Reply

