Throwing out the sushi magazines (it’s not what it sounds like)

More junk on the way out of my life …

2016-03-30 17.00.15

I understand why I might have had four issues of Computers in Libraries magazine — after all, I very much like both computers and libraries.

But four copies of the same issue?

2016-03-30 17.00.28

I couldn’t remember why I’d have four of these, but then I went through one of the copies I remembered that I’d written this piece on the ZeeRex specifications for describing ANSI/NISO Z39.50 and SRU services:

2016-03-30 17.01.06

Here’s a clearer scan for anyone who cares:

2007-04-01--computers-in-libraries--April-2007--p23--ZeeRex

So what’s happened to ZeeRex in the nine years since this piece came out? Ha, funny story. Having already been codified as ANSI/NISO standard Z39.92, ZeeRex went on to be re-codified as part 7 of the OASIS searchRetrieve standard. But this time my name was filed off the side. Six authors are listed (they’re called “editors”) but my name is not among them, even though the bulk of the text of the standard was derived from my work. I can’t explain this, but there it is.

Anyway, I kept one of the sushi magazines because even in 2016 it’s still nice to have glossy printed copies of things you wrote. The others are all gone in recycling.

2 responses to “Throwing out the sushi magazines (it’s not what it sounds like)

  1. Learn “about a dozen standards (11).”

Leave a Reply

