WHY did I have all this stuff?

The clearout continues … but it’s leaving me with more questions than answers.

For example: why? WHY do I have four issues of ACM Press’s software engineering notes from late 1990 and early 1991?

2016-03-30 11.53.47--old-acm-notes

And why? WHY do I have Deloitte and Touche’s financial reports on the Premier League for 1996, 1997 and 1998? Why did I EVER have them?

And WHY do I own a copy of FourFourTwo’s 1998 World Cup preview? And a matchday programme for Chelsea vs. Blackburn in September 1994?

And WHY do I have a copy of of Aitchison & Gilchrist’s guide to thesaurus construction that used to belong to the director of the Woodstock movie? This is true. My copy was owned by Mike Wadleigh, who directed Woodstock (1970), which won Best Documentary in the Oscars. Look it up.

And let’s not even TALK about my nearly complete run of issues 75-93 of the Millwall FC fanzine The Lion Roars. (And let’s not get sidetracked into wondering what happened to issue 80.)

And why in the name of all that is rational do I have TWO copies of issue 33 of Liverpool fanzine Through the Wind and Rain?

And why do I have an A2 size George Best poster? I didn’t even like George Best. I detest Manchester United. WHY DID I HAVE THIS?

And why, WHY, do I have three separate 3.5″ floppy disks with 1994-vintage SoundBlaster device drivers?

2016-03-30 11.43.33--soundblaster-floppies

I am discovering frightening things about myself.

4 responses to “WHY did I have all this stuff?

  1. I know exactly what you’re talking about, this is what makes cleaning so tiring. . . . I feel exhausted just reading your post. I can speculate about one of the item’s however:

    And why do I have an A2 size George Best poster? I didn’t even like George Best. I detest Manchester United. WHY DID I HAVE THIS?

    I’d guess it was included as a free promotional item along with something else that you bought.

  2. I’m doing a PhD and the CS dept. (where I work) has recently been liquidating its library in favor of the newer-bigger-better science sector library.

    The best use we have made of the old proceedings so far is to block the door of the now-empty library to allow people who are late to the now-given-there yoga class to enter.

    I wonder how much we paid for these things.

  3. NickS, I’m sure you’re right that the George Best poster came free with an issue of FourFourTwo or something, but that doesn’t explain why I kept it!

    Nicolas, you’re dead right — things have changed dramatically from print materials in the last decade, and even more recently. I just threw out forty-one nice, glossy reprints of my most-cited paper, which came out only in 2009. They sent me fifty, if I remember right, and each of the three authors got at least one, so it seems I managed to shift at most six of them.

  4. I’m just pleased I’m not the only one who suffers from this. I’ve still got instruction manuals for software in the shed (not even the garage, which shows how unimportant they are) from around 10 years ago that I looked at once and have never looked at since. I suspect I can survive without them.

    Having said that, regardless of the disdain for a certain team in the north of England, a poster of Best is not the worst thing to have.

Leave a Reply

