Birthday sushi

For Dan’s birthday (and mine, which was six days earlier), I took him to Birmingham, which as far as I can tell is the nearest place to us that you can get good sushi. My goal was to fill him so full of sushi that he actively wanted to not eat any more. Here he is with the first plateful:

2016-03-19 13.50.46

And the actual sushi in a slightly better photo:

2016-03-19 13.50.02

No more photos, because once we got going, we lost the impetus to record the event and just concentrated on the food — but that, really, is how it should be. Live in the moment, am I right?

We ordered two more similar-sized but different plates, and matched each other’s eating piece for piece. By the end, he ran out of steam, and we had to bring the last six rolls home. (We ate them that evening.)

“I’m too stuffed to move”, he told me towards the end of the meal, “I don’t know how I’m going to get to the car.”

“Don’t worry”, I told him, “I’ll roll you”.

Just before we got home, I had to stop to buy petrol. I suggested Dan drive the last part of the journey (he’s learning, and just got insurance to drive outside of lessons). He declined, on the basis that he felt drunk on sushi.

Mission accomplished!

Leave a Reply

