Cinderford Music Festival fundraising gig

This afternoon, I did my first solo gig. Up till now, I’ve done a few gigs as a part of combos (including as a jazz singer, bizarrely) and plenty of short solo spots at folk clubs, but this was the first time I’d done a complete set, with just my guitar and voice.

It takes a certain amount of courage.

It was an outdoor gig in the beer-garden of the Golden Lion pub in Cinderford — a fund-raiser for the forthcoming Cinderford Music Festival. (Note the white-tree-of-Gondor festival logo.) As things stand, I’m not scheduled to play at the festival proper; but this afternoon’s gig went well, and when I spoke to one of the organisers afterwards he was keen to find me a slot. So we’ll see whether that works out.

I did all covers — partly because people in pubs like to hear songs they know, and partly because, uh, I don’t have any songs of my own. It’s to my enduring shame that I’ve never written a song except for pantomimes.

For the record, here’s the set-list from this afternoon:

  • Marrakesh Express (Crosby, Stills and Nash)
  • You’ve Got a Friend (James Taylor)
  • Strawberry Fields Forever (Beatles)
  • Yesterday (Beatles)
  • Something (Beatles)
  • Money (That’s What I Want) (Beatles)
  • Will You Love Me Tomorrow? (Carole King)
  • America (Simon and Garfunkel)
  • The Next Best Western (Richard Shindell)
  • While my Guitar Gently Weeps (Beatles)
  • Here, There and Everywhere (Beatles)
  • Soldier of Fortune (Deep Purple)
  • Waterloo Sunset (The Kinks)
  • We Learned the Sea (Dar Williams)
  • I Saw Her Standing There (Beatles)
  • Let It Be (Beatles)
  • ENCORE: A Day In The Life (Beatles)

I had a few spares lined up, because I didn’t know how many songs I’d need, but I ended up dumping a fair few of the non-Beatles ones, and keeping all the Fab Four stuff because, hey, audiences love Beatles songs (and who can blame them?)

I’m scheduled to have a slot at the Mitcheldean Folk Festival in July, where I’ll probably do a somewhat similar set, but with less Beatles and more Joni Mitchell and Dar Williams.

One response to “Cinderford Music Festival fundraising gig

  1. Pingback: How to write a song (as told by someone who’s never written a song) | The Reinvigorated Programmer

Leave a Reply

