Saying goodbye to the first two charity spammers

I said last week that from now on, when I get spammed with physical begging letters, I will send the junk back to the originator in the pre-paid envelope, with a big STOP SPAMMING ME message scrawled over it. Here’s the first batch:

IMG_1438-goodbye-charity-spam

These are the first new charity spams to arrive since I did the big clear-out when I just junked the 40 or 50 that had accumulated. The one on the left (Carer’s Trust, rather irritatingly styled carerstrust) I’d never even heard of before. The one on the right I do have involvement with; but that is very specific and constrained, and they should never have used that as an excuse to send me unrelated junk mail.

I put there in the post a couple of days ago. The beatings will continue until morale improves.

6 responses to “Saying goodbye to the first two charity spammers

  1. Charles Oppenheim

    I do that regularly with invitations to apply for a credit card

  2. … as I also certainly will with the next American Express invitation to come through my door.

  3. Now that you’ve made your address public, I’m very tempted to start forwarding all my charity spam to you ;-)

  4. I wondered about blacking out my address. But since it’s right there on my home-page it seems unnecessary. I guess what I should do is put a big NO SPAM banner on that address on my home page. In fact, I’ll go and do that right now.

  5. I think you’re giving this too much of your time and attention. Trust that they don’t care.

    Obnoxious as it is, they get results: a charity that spends 40% on shilling itself and 60% on doing helpful things is spending much more money on doing helpful things than a charity that spends 5% shilling itself and 95% doing helpful things. Because it’s a lot bigger. Because it’s perpetually growing faster.

    Were that it not so, but we have limited attention and much like the volume wars everything just shouts louder and louder. Granted, some are much more savvy and effective at it than others.

    Do what you’re doing. If at all reasonable they have a list. They will remove you from it, maybe note the fact for their statistics, you will save them some postage and life will go on. If they’re unreasonable, you will cost them some postage and support the Royal Mail at the expense of unreasonable people. Also a win. But don’t let it bother you overmuch, it’s not worth the angst.

    You could also (recycle) bin the lot and spend your time contributing in the many ways you do. Choose your battles. If you choose this one in earnest, I think the solution involves more public engagement with giving and a more hands-on approach from the donor community. Effective organisations do what works or are supplanted by those that will. If more money is actively seeking charities actively rather than passively and is turned off by this behaviour I imagine it will stop.

    It is exceedingly unlikely anyone is harvesting your postal address. If they are, your warning will do nothing but look tacky. Instead, use one of the Javascript ways of raising the bar on harvesting.

  6. Pingback: How to drive away a repeat customer, in four identical steps | The Reinvigorated Programmer

Leave a Reply

