Sorry I’ve been a bit quiet — I’ve been busy dissecting an ostrich skull

Oddly, the title of this post is literally true.  I know I’ve quiet on this blog for the last few days, and it’s because I’ve been busy dissecting an ostrich skull.  Admittedly, I’ve also been watching a lot of the World Cup, and going through Buffy Season 2 again, not to mention obsessing over tomorrow evening’s finale of Doctor Who Season 5.  But the ostrich has taken up much of my non-work-time attention, and all my blogging effort.

Here she is after a couple of simmerings, having been skinned and with her frontal bones removed, showing the brain and eyeballs from above.

Those of you who enjoy this kind of thing can read all three parts (so far) of my ostrich-head adventures over on my other blog, Sauropod Vertebra Picture of the Week:

Lots of pictures!  See you there!

Leave a Reply

